Creator: VectorStock.com/35665212

How do you motivate yourself? I use tricks and games…

Lynne Thompson
3 min readNov 20, 2022

I use little games, tricks and promised rewards to motivate myself. Like this morning, I got up early and was starting the coffee. There were dishes in the sink and I knew I should change the clean ones in the dishwasher and start a new load. I didn’t feel like doing that, but I used a little challenge that works every time. I say to myself “I bet I can do the dishes before the coffee is done.” And I jump in. And I beat the coffee! Which shows you how quick the chore of dishes really is! You may not be as simple minded as me, because this ALWAYS works. It is the little kick start I need to do the dishes. But pick one that works for you. And of course, there is the reward of freshly made coffee.

Other times, I think about how much better I will feel in the near future if I do the thing. Or, I may promise myself a reward. A walk in the crisp air, a trip to the farmer’s market. A new scented soap (if it’s a bigger task). A cup of coffee out. Whatever it takes. Sometimes the reward is a show I really want to watch. I promise myself I will do X before I sit down to watch the show. In general, I try to put work first, and then the fun later.

Sometimes fear motivates me too. This is very true of work (and when I was younger, school). As a deadline gets closer, my fear of having to show up empty-handed is a strong motivator. But even…

--

--

Lynne Thompson

I always wrote (first poem at 6 years old). Tech writer by trade. I have a podcast The Storied Human: see my linktree — https://linktr.ee/StoriedHuman